Award in MoT Testing Class 4 & 7

Award in MoT Testing Class 4 & 72019-01-15T09:56:47+00:00

L2 Award in MOT Testing Class 4 & 7

The DVSA have changed the way new MOT testers become qualified for testing status. All new MOT testers are now required to complete the Level 2 Award in MOT Testing for their relevant vehicle class.

The Level 2 Award in MOT Testing has been developed in Collaboration with the DVSA to give learners the knowledge and skills required to perform MOT tests to the required standard. Once passed, new MOT testers can apply to the DVSA for their Certificate of Competence and begin conducting MOT tests.

Who is the MOT Qualification For?

The MOT Tester course, Award in MOT Testing Class 4 & 7, has been developed for individuals who would like to improve their career by becoming qualified MOT Testers for cars and vans.

What previous experience do I need?

A Level 3 MV Qualification, A current and full UK driving licence for the relevant vehicle class and at least four years full-time employment in service and repair of the relevant vehicle class

Once you have completed your Award in MOT Testing Class 4 & 7, you will need to complete a VT8 Observation, which is the final step in your journey to become an MOT Tester and gain your MOT qualification


The content of this qualification has been designed to reflect the needs of the learner to enable them to pass the qualification for MOT Testers.

The content of the qualification includes:

  • Working safely within a vehicle test centre
  • Communicating with colleagues and customers
  • How to manage and maintain their CPD
  • Carrying out pre-test checks
  • Carrying out an MOT test

Frequently Asked Questions…

All current MOT testers (those who have been previously assessed by the DVSA) do not have to complete the new qualification.

All MOT testers have to complete the Annual Assessment and relevant Annual Training.

To become an MOT tester, you must take a Level 2 Award in MOT Testing.

If you are already an MOT tester, you must complete a minimum of three hours of Annual Training each year and complete an Annual Assessment to maintain your testing status.

MOT testers will no longer need to attend a five-year refresher course.

DVSA will carry out a final check after the qualification has been awarded for authorising testers. Successful candidates will be entered onto the MOT Testing Service and will be deemed to have achieved a Certificate of Competence, although no physical certificate will be awarded.

Yes. Each of the Level 2 Awards in MOT Testing is for a specific vehicle class. The DVSA have also announced a new approach for Class 3 and 5 training. Please see the Special Notice on their website.

If you want to become an MOT trainer, you will need to:

  • Apply for a position at an MOT Testing Centre or training provider
  • Be a current or previous MOT tester, or show that you have previously delivered DVSA MOT tester courses
  • Have gained the MOT qualification you intend to deliver or show you have completed relevant training such as DVSA delivered training
  • Complete the Annual Training required by the DVSA (but, as an MOT trainer, you do not have to take the Annual Assessment required of MOT testers, unless you also wish to be a practising MOT tester).

The Level 2 Award test has 2 parts. You must pass both a practical test and an onscreen test to get your full certificate.

What our clients have to say…

‘Just completed my MOT Centre Managers Course, found the tutor to be very knowledgeable and well experienced. He made the 3 days go by with ease, explaining all aspects, procedures and requirements needed to run a successful MOT garage complying with DVSA inspection regulations ‘

Gareth Horwood , Burn Road Commercials
‘First class service from a very knowledgeable team. Extremely helpful on all aspects of MOT Training’
Kal Mohammed , One Stop MOT

Want to book on a course?

Contact Us